Skip to main content

Postgraduate Committees

Postgraduate Medical Education Committee Membership

Postgraduate Medical Education Committee  
Core Committee  
Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education (Chair) Dr. Karen Schultz
Anatomical Pathology Program Director Dr. Christopher Davidson
Anesthesiology Program Director Dr. Marta Cenkowski
Cardiology Program Director Dr. Samir Hazra
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Dr. Sanjeev Sharma
Clinician Investigator Program Director Dr. Anne Ellis
Critical Care  Program Director Dr. Paul Heffernan
Diagnostic Radiology Program Director Dr. Andrew Chung
Emergency Medicine Program Director Dr. Erin Brennan
Family Medicine Program Director Dr. Brent Wolfrom
Family Medicine Enhanced Skills Program Director Dr. Meg Gemmill
FM / Anesthesia Program Coordinator Dr. Valerie McLeod
FM / Care of the Elderly Program Coordinator Dr. Christopher Frank
FM / Emergency Medicine Program Coordinator Dr. Matthew Stacey
Gastroenterology Program Director Dr. Mark Ropeleski
General Internal Medicine Program Director Dr. Laura Marcotte
General Surgery Program Director Dr. David Robertson
Geriatric Psychiatry Dr. Maria Hussain
Hematology Program Director Dr. Janet Lui
Internal Medicine Program Director Dr. Stephen Gauthier
Medical Oncology Program Director Dr. Francisco Vera Badillo
Nephrology Program Director Dr. Hasitha Welihinda
Neurology Program Director Dr. Lysa Lomax
Obstetrics and Gynaecology Program Director Dr. Marisa Horniachek
Ophthalmology Program Director Dr. Mark Bona
Orthopedic Surgery Program Director Dr. Davide Bardana
Pediatric Program Directors Dr. Kirk Leifso
Palliative Care Medicine Program Director Dr. Craig Goldie
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Program Director Dr. Sussan Askari
Psychiatry Program Director Dr. Eric Prost
Public Health and Preventive Medicine Program Director Dr. Kieran Moore
Radiation Oncology Program Director Dr. Catherine de Metz
Respirology Program Director Dr. Christina Liak
Rheumatology Program Director Dr. Marie Clements-Baker
Surgical Foundations Program Director Dr. Darrin Payne
Urology Program Director Dr. Michael Leveridge
Director, Resident Wellness Dr. Melissa Andrew
Assistant Dean, Distributed Medical Education Dr. Ruzica Jokic
Chief, Academic and Medical Affairs, Kingston Health Sciences Centre Chris Gillies
Director of Medical Administration, Providence Care Allison Philpot
Resident Representatives  
PARO Representative  
CFPC Resident Representative  
RCPSC Resident Representative  
Non-Voting Members  
Vice Dean, Education Dr. Leslie Flynn
Program Manager, Postgraduate Medical Education Jordan Sinnett
Accreditation Coordinator, Postgraduate Medical Education Karen Spilchen
Family Medicine - Kingston & 1000 Islands Site Director Dr. Kelly Howse
Family Medicine - Belleville/Quinte Site Director Dr. Nadia Knarr
Family Medicine - Peterborough/Kawartha Site Director Dr. Kim Curtin
Family Medicine - Bowmanville/Oshawa/Lakeridge Site Director Dr. Wei-Hsi Pang
Medical Director, Academic Affairs - Lakeridge Health Corporation Dr. Randy Wax

Director, Assessment and Evaluation
Chair, Education Advisory Board

Laura McEwen, PhD
Director, Marketing and Recruitment Nicholas Snider 
Chair, Resident Advisory Board  
Member of the Public Diane Kelly
RCPSC Program Administrator  
CFPC Program Administrator Laura McDiarmid

Postgraduate Medical Education Committees: Meeting Dates 2021-2022

Date Committee Members to Attend Time and Location
September 16, 2021

PGMEC All Program Directors 12:00-1:30pm
October 14, 2021 PGMEC All Program Directors 12:00-1:30pm
November 24, 2021 PGMEC All Program Directors 12:00-1:30pm
December 15, 2021 PGMEC All Program Directors 12:00-1:30pm
January 27, 2022 PGMEC All Program Directors


February 23, 2022 PGMEC All Program Directors 12:00-1:30pm

March 24, 2022

PGMEC All Program Directors


April 13, 2022 PGMEC All Program Directors 12:00-1:30pm
May 26, 2022 PGMEC All Program Directors 12:00-1:30pm
June 22, 2022 PGMEC All Program Directors 12:00-1:30pm

The PGY1 Subcommittee of the Postgraduate Medical Education Committee (PGMEC) has been established to make recommendations to the PGMEC regarding affairs of the PGY1 programs.  The PGY1 Subcommittee will discuss several key topics including:

  • Queen's postgraduate quotas in the Canadian Residency Matching Service (CaRMS)
  • curriculum review and development for the Core Academic Days
  • resident assignment and management for PGY1 required rotations



Voting Members
All PGY1 Program Directors

Associate Dean, PGME
Director of Resident Wellness
Program Manager, PGME
Director, Assessment and Evaluation
Director, Marketing and Recruitment
Program Coordinator, PGME

Download the Terms of Reference

Approved at PGMEC on December 11, 2019
Approved by Faculty Board on February 13, 2020


Resident Advisory Committee


The Resident Advisory Committee was established in August 2012 to provide a forum for resident engagement in policy and management decisions within the affiliated teaching hospitals.  Working collaboratively with hospital administration, the committee reports to the Postgraduate Medical Education Committee (PGMEC) and current membership includes:

  • Residents from Kingston General Hospital's Joint Program Committees
  • Residents from Hotel Dieu Hospital's Ambulatory Care Committee
  • Residents from the Department of Family Medicine
  • A Subspecialty Medicine resident
  • The Core Internal Medicine Program Director
  • The Directors of Medical Affairs from Kingston General and Hotel Dieu Hospitals
  • The Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education