Skip to main content

Student Interest Groups

For questions relating to these Student Interest Groups, please contact Tania Yavorska at siro@qmed.ca 

 

 

Interest Groups

Senior Execs Contact

Junior Execs Contact

Description

---Academic Groups---
Academic Medicine Interest Group (AMIG) Louis Huynh (lhuynh@qmed.ca), Stephanie Dobson (sdobson@qmed.ca) Danny Jomaa (djomaa@qmed.ca), Jennifer Payendeh (jpayendeh@qmed.ca), Brian Laight (blaight@qmed.ca, acting as a liaison for the MD-PhD program)  To educate medical students about the roles that physicians have in medical research and academia, discuss ways to succeed in research, provide networking opportunities for students to meet potential clinician scientist mentors, and help students further develop the skills necessary to critically appraise scientific papers.
Anesthesiology Interest Group (AIG) Rex Park (rpark@qmed.ca), Mohammed Mohiuddin (mmohiuddin@qmed.ca), Louis Huynh (lhuynh@qmed.ca) Tyeren Deacon (tdeacon@qmed.ca), Daniyal Mahmood (dmahmood@qmed.ca) To educate medical students about the field of anesthesiology, and expose them to practicing anesthesiologists and residents.
Diagnostic Imaging Interest Group (DIIG) Shakira Brathwaite (sbrathwaite@qmed.ca), Craig Stewart (cstewart@qmed.ca) Laura Mantella (lmantella@qmed.ca), Maia Idzikowski (midzikowski@qmed.ca) To provide students with an opportunity to explore the field of medical imaging and showcase its usage in a variety of medical specialties
Emergency Medicine Interest Group (EMIG) Marnie Jakab (mjakab@qmed.ca) Justin Dirk (jdirk@qmed.ca), Alex Morra (amorra@qmed.ca) Shyan Van Heer (svanheer@qmed.ca), Lewis Forward (lforward@qmed.ca) To provide a forum for Qmed students who are interested in emergency medicine to learn about EM through the engagement of Queen’s EM faculty and other like-minded students.
Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) Sophie Rossini (srossini@qmed.ca), Lauren Wierenga (lwierenga@qmed.ca) Rohini Pasricha (rpasricha@qmed.ca) - Junior Co-chair 
Daniyal Mahmood (dmahmood@qmed.ca) - Junior Resident Liaison
Dalton Budhram (dbudhram@qmed.ca) - Junior Technical Skills Coordinator 
Tiffany Chih (tiffany.chih@queensu.ca) - Junior Speakers Coordinator 
Iku Nwosu (inwosu@qmed.ca)- Junior Promotions 
To provide medical students exposure to the field of family medicine. 
Innovation in Medicine (IiM) Ali Dergham (adergham@qmed.ca),
Samantha Sarabia (ssarabia@qmed.ca), Tatyana Yavorska (tyavorska@qmed.ca)
Zoe Hu (zhu@qmed.ca), Kimberly Yuen (kyuen@qmed.ca), Alec Hughes (ahughes@qmed.ca) To engage students in new aspects of the health care system including technologies, innovative research techniques, or new policy approaches being discussed. We also help prepare students for entreprenurial ventures with a business fundamentals skillset by co-hostng a mini-MBA series with the Graduate Management Consulting Association's Queen's University Chapter.
Internal Medicine Interest Group (IMIG) Dhruv Krishnan (kdhruv@qmed.ca),Wasimuddin Syed (wsyed@qmed.ca), Angela Brijmohan (abrijmohan@qmed.ca), Rex Park
(rpark@qmed.ca)
Ioana Dobre (idobre@qmed.ca) Queen’s Internal Medicine Interest Group seeks to foster understanding of internal medicine (IM) as a specialty and all subspecialities therein. In addition to promoting the field, we also hope to serve as a conduit to build camaraderie and network between IM faculty and interested students.
Lifestyle Medicine Interest Group Leah Allen (lallen@qmed.ca), Daniel Rusiecki (drusiecki@qmed.ca) Vanessa Ha (vha@qmed.ca), Daniel Goldshtein (daniel.goldshtein@hotmail.com) To provide medical students information regarding lifestyle interventions (exercise, diet, stressreduction, etc.) and tools to help them integrate these interventions into their practice as future physicians, no matter what specialty or demographic they serve.
Oncology Interest Group (OIG) Gleb Mironov (ggmironov@gmail.com), Joshua Reed (jreed@gmail.com) Matt Gynn (mgynn@qmed.ca), Markus Kuksis (mkuksis@qmed.ca) To allow students additional avenues of exploring oncology, the oncological subspecialties, and oncology-related research.
Ophthalmology Interest Group (Optho) Michelle Lutsch (lmichelle@qmed.ca), Ali Dergham (adergham@qmed.ca) Group will be merging with QSIG for next year Educate students about Ophthalmology and promote interest in the specialty.
Pediatric Interst Group (PIG) Alisha Kapur (akapur@qmed.ca) Vincent So (11vs18@queensu.ca), Vanessa Giuliano (vgiuliano@qmed.ca)
 
The Paediatric Elective Lecture Series promotes a variety of topics to within the paediatric field to enhance Queen’s medical students’ curricular and extracurricular experience. It is a forum to promote the field of paediatrics, expose students to interesting paediatric topics, and meet the paediatrics faculty at Queen’s. 
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Interest Group (PM&RIG) Naveen Sivaranjan (nsivaranjan@qmed.ca),Trevor Robinson (Trobinson@qmed.ca),Syed Ibrahim (sibrahim@qmed.ca) Elisa Christinck (echristinck@qmed.ca), Hamza Asif (masif@qmed.ca) The purpose of PM&RIG is to provide preclerkship students with increased exposure to the specialties of physical medicine and rehabilitation and sports medicine while also giving students in those years a chance to learn some extra clinical skills.
Queen's Geriatrics Interest Group (QGIG) Bryan Franco (bfranco@qmed.ca), Courtney 
Leach (cleach@qmed.ca)
Tiffany Chih (tiffany.chih@queensu.ca), Ruchit Patel (rpatel@qmed.ca) To provide opportunities for students to learn more about geriatrics.
Queen's Psychiatry Interest Group (QPIG) Jordana Waserman (jwaserman@qmed.ca), Alex Morra (amorra@qmed.ca) Alessandro Ricci (aricci@qmed.ca), Andrew Lee (alee@qmed.ca), Elisa Christinck (echristinck@qmed.ca) To explore thoughts, ideas and careers in the field of psychiatry.
Queen's Student Interest Group in Neurology (QSIGN) Duong Chu (dchu@qmed.ca), Meredith
Poole (mpoole@qmed.ca), Daniel Rusiecki (drusiecki@qmed.ca)
Carter McInnis (cmcinnis@qmed.ca), Mary Zhu (mzhu@qmed.ca), Alec Hughes (ahughes@qmed.ca) An interest group for Queen's medical students interested in Neurology, Neurosurgery, Neuroradiology, Neuropathology, and/or any other neurologically-related topic.
Queen's Surgery Interest Group (QSIG) Avrilynn Ding (ading@qmed.ca), Shakira Brathwaite (sbrathwaite@qmed.ca), Ali Dergham (adergham@qmed.ca) Valera Castanov (vcastanov@qmed.ca), Sabreena Lawal (slawal@qmed.ca) To provide Queen’s medical students with exposure to surgical specialties, career opportunities involving surgery and workshops through which they can practice surgical skills.
What Happened in Medicine (WHIM) Historical Society Andrew Belyea (abelyea@qmed.ca), Kelly 
Salman (ksalman@qmed.ca)
Adam Gabara (agabara@qmed.ca), Samiyah Khan (skhan@qmed.ca) To support any and all history of medicine activity and research at Qmed
Wilderness Medicine Interest Group (WMIG) Andrew Belyea (abelyea@qmed.ca), Palma 
Gubert (pgubert@qmed.ca), Will Wu (wwu@qmed.ca)
Paul Bullock (pbullock@qmed.ca), Jeremy Seed (jseed@qmed.ca), Mel Novakovic (mnovakovic@qmed.ca) To encourage learning around medicine specific to wilderness pursuits.
Women's Health Interest Group (WHIG) Palma Gubert (pgubert@qmed.ca), Amber Murphy (amurphy@qmed.ca), Madison Price (mprice@qmed.ca)) Emily Richmond (erichmond@qmed.ca), Cara Van Der Merwe (cvandermerwe@qmed.ca), Anna Tyker (atyker@qmed.ca) To provide Queen's medical students with exposure to topics relating to women's health, including reproduction, abortion, mental health, sexual abuse and many more. Additionally the club will provide opportunities to practice women's health related procedural and technical skills.
To complement and expand on UGME curriculum regarding women’s health!
---Service Learning Groups---
Altitude Healthcare Mentoring Stephanie Dobson (sdobson@qmed.ca), Lauren Wierenga (lwierenga@qmed.ca) Markus Kuksis (mkuksis@qmed.ca), Minnie Fu (mfu@qmed.ca) Main objectives: 1. Help medical students develop the skills to become effective mentors. 2. Nurture first year undergraduate students in their transition to university and help them explore careers in healthcare. 3. Provide Mentors with support and help to develop skills important to healthcare professionals
Jr. Medics Noah Liberman (nliberman@qmed.ca), 
Lauren Wierenga (lwierenga@qmed.ca)
Jennifer Payandeh (jpayendeh@qmed.ca) To deliver high-quality, basic first aid training to elementary school students in the Kingston area.
---Advocacy Groups---
Environmental Advocacy in Medicine (EnvMed) Sarah Wong (wsarah@qmed.ca), Sam Sarabia (ssarabia@qmed.ca), Bethany Ricker (rbethany@qmed.ca), Sasha Letourneau (sletourneau@qmed.ca) Marika Moskalyk (mmoskalyk@qmed.ca)
Julia Robson (jrobson@qmed.ca)
To educate medical students on the role of sustainability in medicine and and how the environment impacts our health so that they can better advocate for the health of their patients. According to the CMA, “health care professionals and organizations need to consider the long-term environmental costs of providing health care and to reduce the material and energy consumption of the health care industry.” This interest group would allow medical students to learn how they can best achieve this goal.
FrancoMed  Jordana Waserman (wasermanjordana@gmail.com), Sasha Létourneau (14sgl2@queensu.ca), Michelle Lutsch (14ml71@queensu.ca) Elisa Christinck (echristinck@qmed.ca) Francomed aims to identify and mobilize Francophone and Francophile medical students, as well as prepare and equip them for clinical activities in the underserved French minority communities in Canada.
Health Policy Interest Group (HPIG) Caberry Yu (wyu@qmed.ca), Susan Thanabalasingam (tsusan@qmed.ca) Mary Zhu (mzhu@qmed.ca) Increase awareness and promote dialogue regarding current issues in health policy
Women in Medicine (WIM) Rae Woodhouse (hwoodhouse@qmed.ca), Claire Mourra (cmoura@qmed.ca), Sophie Rossini (srossini@qmed.ca)) Rubab Fatima (rfatima@qmed.ca), Shikha Patel (spatel@qmed.ca), 
Iku Nwosu (inwosu@qmed.ca)
Women in Medicine is focused on providing students mentorship opportunities with female physicians, and providing information on issues unique to women in medicine.
---Leisure / Other---
Hippochromatic Notes (HN) Dhruv Krishnan (kdhruv@qmed.ca), Lauren Wierenga (lwierenga@qmed.ca) Rachel Trites (rtrites@qmed.ca) An a cappella group for Queen's medical students.
Medicine and Literature (MedLit) Palika Kohli (pkohli@qmed.ca), Alisha Kapur (akapur@qmed.ca) Andrew Lee (alee@qmed.ca), Ayla Raabis (araabis@qmed.ca),
Sara Sarbar (ssarbar@qmed.ca)
To provide medical students and residents with opportunities to explore a variety of perspectives on aspects of clinical practice, professionalism, medical ethics, and experiences of illness.
QMed Dragonboat Team Sam Sarabia (sam.sarabia@queensu.ca), Charlotte Coleman (ccoleman@qmed.ca), Adam Birosh (abirosh@qmed.ca) Anna Tyker (atyker@qmed.ca), Cara van der Merwe (cvandermerwe@qmed.ca) To enrich the quality of student life through a teamwork and leadership building sport. 
Christian Medical Student Fellowship (CMDS) Leah Allen (lallen@qmed.ca), Josh
Gnanasegaram (jgnanasegaram@qmed.ca)
Rachel Trites (rtrites@qmed.ca), Elisa Christinck (echristinck@qmed.ca) CMDS at Queen's is dedicated to providing medical students, residents, and physicians with the opportunity to explore faith and medicine and how they intersect.
Muslim Medical Association of Queen’s (MMAQ) Shaimaa Helal (shaimaa.helal@queensu.ca), Rubab Fatima (rfatima@qmed.ca) N/A Muslim Medical Association of Queen’s (MMAQ) aims to provide opportunities for students, residents and physicians to explore the Islamic faith in the context of health and the field of medicine. The MMAQ also aims to provide a supportive platform for Muslim students at every stage of their medical career.