Skip to main content

2020 Regional Education Award Recipients

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 Regional Education Awards.

Excellence in Teaching Award
Created to recognize community preceptors who have contributed significantly to advancing teaching and learning at distributed sites.

Dr. Ahmed Mian, FM/EM, Humber River Hospital
Dr. Avita Sooknanan, FM, Bowmanville
Quinte Health Care Pediatrics Group, Belleville


Mentorship Award
Created to recognize a role model in supporting, encouraging and promoting educational, professional and personal development to colleagues and learners.

Dr. Karin Euler, FM, Clarksburg
Dr. Kerry Howatt, OB/GYN, Brockville
Dr. Tom Richard, FM, Peterborough


Education Development Award
Created to reward major administrative contributions to education or innovative curriculum development in community sites.

Dr. Laurie Wherrett, Surgery, Lakeridge Health

Thank you to all of this year's recipients for your service and dedication to our medical trainees!